DJJ Lifetime Achievement Award in
Financial Planning

Donald J. Johnston led FP Canada through its successful first decade of development and operation as the premier standard-setting organization for the financial planning profession in Canada.

The Donald J. Johnston Award recognizes a recipient’s lifetime contribution and positive impact on FP Canada’s certifications and on the financial planning profession as a whole.

The 2021 DJJ Lifetime Achievement Award nomination period is now closed. The 2022 nomination period will open in May 2022.


Nomination Criteria

Nominees for the Donald J. Johnston Award will be assessed against the following criteria:

  1. FP Canada™ Fellow
    The nominee must be an FP Canada Fellow.

  2. Profound contribution and positive impact on FP Canada certifications and on the financial planning profession as a whole.
    The nominee must have:
  • Demonstrated leadership and had a tangible, far-reaching impact on the profession and the public it serves by inspiring increased industry, advisor and/or consumer recognition of the importance of financial planning and the positioning of FP Canada certifications as the standard to which planners must be held to properly serve the public interest; 
  • Made a significant direct contribution in support of the work of FP Canada; and
  • Had a positive impact on the end users of financial services or the industry and organizations through which these services are widely offered.

Given that the Donald J. Johnston Lifetme Achievement Award in Financial Planning is a prestigious distinction, the criteria for acceptance of new recipients are extremely high.
As such, the Donald J. Johnston Lifetime Achievement Award may not be awarded every year

2021 Recipient

Cary List 
CFP®, FP Canada™ Fellow
Read More


Past Recipients

2020    Larry A. Wood, CFP®, FP Canada™ Fellow

2018    Dawn Hawley, CFP®, FP Canada™ Fellow

2017    John De Goey, CFP®, FP Canada™ Fellow

2011    Randy Reynolds, CFP®, FP Canada™ Fellow

2010    Michael E. Lem, CFP®, FP Canada™ Fellow

2009    Patricia Lovett-Reid, CFP®, FP Canada™ Fellow

2008    Jim Rogers

2007    Alastair Rickard, FP Canada™ Fellow

2006    Donald J. Johnston